The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

Views 2.4K
no ratings

In 1941, during humanity’s darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Marriage of Opposites Alice Hoffman.

In Berlin, at the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save her from the Nazi regime. She finds her way to a renowned rabbi, but it’s his daughter, Ettie, who offers hope of salvation when she creates a mystical Jewish creature, a rare and unusual golem, who is sworn to protect Lea. Once Ava is brought to life, she and Lea and Ettie become eternally entwined, their paths fated to cross, their fortunes linked.

Lea and Ava travel from Paris, where Lea meets her soulmate, to a convent in western France known for its silver roses; from a school in a mountaintop village where three thousand Jews were saved. Meanwhile, Ettie is in hiding, waiting to become the fighter she’s destined to be.

What does it mean to lose your mother? How much can one person sacrifice for love? In a world where evil can be found at every turn, we meet remarkable characters that take us on a stunning journey of loss and resistance, the fantastical and the mortal, in a place where all roads lead past the Angel of Death and love is never ending.

  • File Name:the-world-that-we-knew-by-alice-hoffman.epub
  • Original Title:The World That We Knew
  • Creator:
  • Language:en
  • Identifier:uuid:46c66a7a-0e75-46eb-9506-2de75ee26431
  • Publisher:Simon & Schuster
  • Date:2019-09-23T18:30:00+00:00
  • File Size:1.346 MB

Table of Content

  • 1. Cover
  • 2. Epigraph
  • 3. Part One: 1941–42
    • Chapter One: East of the Sun
    • Chapter Two: The Magician’s Assistant
    • Chapter Three: The Rabbi’s Daughter
    • Chapter Four: Water, Fire, Earth, and Sky
    • Chapter Five: The Follower
    • Chapter Six: In Another Country
    • Chapter Seven: Arrival
    • Chapter Eight: The Girl in the Country
    • Chapter Nine: The Realm of the Shadow
    • Chapter Ten: The Disappearance
    • Chapter Eleven: Runaways
    • Chapter Twelve: The Heron
    • Chapter Thirteen: The Faraway Place
    • Chapter Fourteen: Blessing
    • Chapter Fifteen: The Gathered
    • Chapter Sixteen: The Two Brothers
    • Chapter Seventeen: The Message
    • Chapter Eighteen: The Silver Rose
    • Chapter Nineteen: In the Forest
  • 4. Part Two: 1943–44
    • Chapter Twenty: The Old Man
    • Chapter Twenty-One: Believer
    • Chapter Twenty-Two: The Doctor’s House
    • Chapter Twenty-Three: Hidden
    • Chapter Twenty-Four: The Other Side
    • Chapter Twenty-Five: The Labyrinth
    • Chapter Twenty-Six: The Red Shoes
    • Chapter Twenty-Seven: Beehive House
    • Chapter Twenty-Eight: The Map
    • Chapter Twenty-Nine: The Last Angel
    • Chapter Thirty: The maker and the made
    • Chapter Thirty-One: The Beast
    • Chapter Thirty-Two: The way Home
    • Chapter Thirty-Three: The Weight of a Soul
    • Chapter Thirty-Four: West of the Moon
  • 5. Acknowledgments
  • 6. About the Author
  • 7. Further Reading
  • 8. Copyright

Be the first to reply
Comment author placeholder