Fantasy

Fantasy is a genre that uses magic and other supernatural forms as a primary element of plot, theme, and/or setting. Fantasy is generally distinguished from science fiction and horror by the expectation that it steers clear of technological and macabre themes, respectively, though there is a great deal of overlap between the three (collectively known as speculative fiction or science fiction/fantasy)

In its broadest sense, fantasy comprises works by many writers, artists, filmmakers, and musicians, from ancient myths and legends to many recent works embraced by a wide audience today, including young adults, most of whom are represented by the works below.

 

Fantasy

Zara and Lessie return in book 2 of this dragon rider adventure series, for fans of Eragon and Dragon Riders of Pern! When Zara and Lessie first laid ...
Flight of the Dragon by Jessica Drake

July 12, 2018

Things have settled down at the Tulsa House of Night since Zoey and the gang closed the tear between worlds and sent Other Kevin back to the Other Wor...
Lost by P.C. Cast

July 11, 2018

Things have changed for seventeen-year-old Zoe ever since the otherworldly events that brought her together with the mysterious bounty hunter she call...
The Brink of Darkness by Jeff Giles

July 11, 2018

After proving her worth in book one as a deft spy and strategic matchmaker, Sage Fowler is now comfortably positioned in high society as the royal tut...
The Traitor’s Ruin by Erin Beaty

July 11, 2018

The Messenger rocked your world, and now she’s back. But have her lies finally caught up with her? Trust doesn’t come easy for Kesh Lasota. She surviv...
Game of Lies by Pippa DaCosta

July 11, 2018

Never trust a guy in spandex. In Abby Hamilton’s world, superheroes do more than just stop crime and save cats stuck in trees—they also drink milk str...
The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas

July 10, 2018

Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders… but her father isn’t a very good one. Free to lend and reluctant to collect, he has loaned o...
Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

July 10, 2018

Thomas Fawkes is turning to stone, and the only cure to the Stone Plague is to join his father’s plot to assassinate the king of England. Silent wars ...
Fawkes by Nadine Brandes

July 10, 2018

Haunted by the sacrifices he made in Constantinople, Radu is called back to the new capital. Mehmed is building an empire, becoming the sultan his peo...
Bright We Burn by Kiersten White

July 10, 2018

In a small town lost to despair, a dark carnival of a market appears. In the fourth in the USA Today bestselling Ghosts of the Shadow Market, faeries ...
Learn about Loss by Cassandra Clare, Kelly Link

July 10, 2018

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore...
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh

July 7, 2018

Alex Verus is tracking down dangerous magical items unleashed into the world by Dark Mages – however, when the Light Council decide they need his help...
Marked by Benedict Jacka

July 4, 2018

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at...
House of Furies by Madeleine Roux

July 4, 2018

In the war against the Forces of Darkness, the Royals are losing. Princess Ivy is determined to end this centuries-long conflict once and for all, so ...
Kiss of the Royal by Lindsey Duga

July 3, 2018

I will not be ruled by fear. A depraved emperor. A wasted realm. A dying race. With Tyrrik by my side, I’ll lead the charge to remedy it all. After di...
Black Crown by Kelly St. Clare

June 30, 2018

I’m getting a little tired of completing my goals, only to have the bar raised too substantially for me to transition at a productive pace… I started ...
Two Kingdoms by Kristy Cunning

June 29, 2018

Three trials stand between Lera and exile. Unless the training kills her first.
Quint magic has never chosen a human before, and the Elders Council is...
Mistake of Magic by Alex Lidell

June 29, 2018

Tamsin Wright is unstoppable. She must become the Glittering Court’s diamond: the girl with the highest test scores, the most glamorous wardrobe, and ...
The Emerald Sea by Richelle Mead

June 29, 2018

Newcomers as well as fans of the original series will devour this fast-paced, action-packed sci-fi adventure that’s perfect for fans of Marvel’s X-Men...
Fugitive Six by Pittacus Lore

June 29, 2018

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been rebor...
Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse

June 28, 2018