Fantasy

Fantasy is a genre that uses magic and other supernatural forms as a primary element of plot, theme, and/or setting. Fantasy is generally distinguished from science fiction and horror by the expectation that it steers clear of technological and macabre themes, respectively, though there is a great deal of overlap between the three (collectively known as speculative fiction or science fiction/fantasy)

In its broadest sense, fantasy comprises works by many writers, artists, filmmakers, and musicians, from ancient myths and legends to many recent works embraced by a wide audience today, including young adults, most of whom are represented by the works below.

 

Fantasy

Crown of Oblivion by Julie Eshbaugh
Astrid is the surrogate for Princess Renya, which means she bears the physical punishment if Renya steps out of line. Astrid has no choice—she and her...
November 13, 2019
Novice Dragoneer by E.E. Knight
Fourteen-year-old Ileth grew up in an orphanage, and thanks to her stutter was never thought to be destined for much beyond kitchen work and cleaning....
November 8, 2019
The Toll by Neal Shusterman
From New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman comes the thrilling conclusion to the Printz Honor–winning series Arc of a Scythe. It’s been th...
November 8, 2019
Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw
Be careful of the dark, dark wood . . . Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even. Rumor...
November 7, 2019
Songs from the Deep by Kelly Powell
The sea holds many secrets. Moira Alexander has always been fascinated by the deadly sirens who lurk along the shores of her island town. Even though ...
November 7, 2019
Song of the Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao
From the acclaimed author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes a fantastical new tale of darkness and love, in which magical bonds are stronger than...
November 6, 2019
The Light at the Bottom of the World by London Shah
Hope had abandoned them to the wrath of all the waters. At the end of the twenty-first century, the world has changed dramatically, but life continues...
November 6, 2019
Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan
Lei, the naive country girl who became a royal courtesan, is now known as the Moonchosen, the commoner who managed to do what no one else could. But s...
November 6, 2019
Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater
The dreamers walk among us . . . and so do the dreamed. Those who dream cannot stop dreaming – they can only try to control it. Those who are dreamed ...
November 6, 2019
Spellbound by DannikaDark
“We all are both heroes and villains in our own story.” Niko is caught in a powerful spell that was cast from the very book he sought to protect. Trap...
November 6, 2019
Supernova by Marissa Meyer
All’s fair in love and anarchy… The epic conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s thrilling Renegades Trilogy finds Nova and Adrian struggling to keep their secr...
November 5, 2019
The Guinevere Deception by Kiersten White
There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl. Princess Guinevere has come to Camelot to wed a stranger: the charismatic King Art...
November 5, 2019
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by ta...
November 5, 2019
Find Me Their Bones by Sara Wolf
No one can save her. In order to protect Prince Lucien d’Malvane’s heart, Zera had to betray him. Now, he hates the sight of her. Trapped in Cavanos a...
November 5, 2019
Legacy by Shannon Messenger
Sophie Foster wants answers. But after a lifetime of lies, sometimes the truth is the most dangerous discovery. Even the smallest secret comes with te...
November 5, 2019
Crownbreaker by Sebastien de Castell
A failed mage learns that just because he’s not the chosen one it doesn’t mean he can’t be a hero in final book of the Spellslinger series. Once an ou...
November 2, 2019
Releasing the Gods by Jaymin Eve
Maisy Parker isn’t asking for a lot in life. Just good friends, good fun, and finally reaching one hundred thousand followers on Instagram. She’s well...
November 2, 2019
Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon
The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister fr...
October 31, 2019
Shattered Bonds by Faith Hunter
Jane Yellowrock must dig deep and find strength within herself if she is to survive in the latest novel in this New York Times bestselling series. Jan...
October 30, 2019
A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy
An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the ...
October 30, 2019