Florence Adler Swims Forever by Rachel Beanland

no ratings

Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home.

Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams.

Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence.

When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

  • File Name:florence-adler-swims-forever-by-rachel-beanland.epub
  • Original Title:Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel
  • Creator:
  • Language:en
  • Identifier:MOBI-ASIN:B07Z44LM4J
  • Publisher:Simon & Schuster
  • Date:2020-07-06T18:30:00+00:00
  • File Size:383.927 KB

Table of Content

  • 1. Cover
  • 2. Title Page
  • 3. Dedication
  • 4. Part I: June 1934
    • Chapter 1: Gussie
    • Chapter 2: Esther
    • Chapter 3: Fannie
    • Chapter 4: Joseph
    • Chapter 5: Isaac
    • Chapter 6: Stuart
    • Chapter 7: Anna
  • 5. Part II: July 1934
    • Chapter 8: Gussie
    • Chapter 9: Esther
    • Chapter 10: Fannie
    • Chapter 11: Joseph
    • Chapter 12: Isaac
    • Chapter 13: Stuart
    • Chapter 14: Anna
  • 6. Part III: August 1934
    • Chapter 15: Gussie
    • Chapter 16: Esther
    • Chapter 17: Fannie
    • Chapter 18: Joseph
    • Chapter 19: Isaac
    • Chapter 20: Stuart
    • Chapter 21: Anna
  • 7. Author’s Note
  • 8. Acknowledgments
  • 9. About the Author
  • 10. Copyright
Be the first to reply
Comment author placeholder